An Open Letter to Stephen Moffat

Dear Stephen Moffat,

Congratulations on being in charge of Doctor Who. Really, I mean it. It’s a great opportunity. But, one factor of being in charge of an insanely popular tv show is that you need to listen to what the fans want. The fans are the people who determine whether your show is going to survive or not. If the fans are continuously ignored, many will eventually decide to jump ship, because it’s not worth investing in the show if the show runner obviously doesn’t care about them.

For the last month, you’ve been hyping the new Doctor. Now, before you jump to any conclusions, I’m not dissing Peter Capaldi. Honestly, I’m very excited for Twelve, and I know that Mr. Capaldi will do a fantastic job. What I am dissing, is that you, Mr. Moffat, built up the hopes of all the fans who aren’t straight, white, males, and then crushed those hopes and spit on them. Seriously, why would you spend months hyping that the new Doctor will be different, that the new Doctor might be something other than a straight, white, male, only to tell your fans that there is no chance of the Doctor being anything other than what he has been.

Now, Mr. Moffat, I’m sure that you don’t mean to disrespect your fans. I’m sure that coming from the privilege that you come from it has never occurred to you to make the Doctor anything but a straight white male. But, there are many people who are not as privileged as you. There are a lot of people that barely see anyone that look like themselves on tv. Personally, I would like to have more role models on your era of Doctor Who than just The Girl Who Waited (For a Man) and the Impossible (Puzzle for a Man to Figure Out) Girl. 

Honestly, I could live with your casting choice, if it weren’t for a few other factors. For one, comments such as “I like that Helen Mirren has been saying the next doctor should be a woman. I would like to go on record and say that the Queen should be played by a man,” are not appropriate. With that comment you’re saying that women can’t steal spaceships and travel throughout time. They have to be “special” women chosen by a man to have that privilege. And for the record, the Queen has been played by a man. Multiple times.

Again, I’m sure you don’t mean to disrespect your fans. And I for one, am not going to let this keep me from enjoying the show. But, it doesn’t change my hope that someday people won’t find it ridiculous that a woman can be a time traveling alien who stole a spaceship.

Sincerely,

A female fan who just wants to see characters like herself on tv

Leave a comment