A Very Magical Birthday.

I’ve mentioned before that I have been a Harry Potter fan for many years. Part of being a childhood book fan is the inevitable, themed party. Mine was when I was 8 years old. It was right in the midst of my Pottermania. I had finished the fifth book (the latest one out) six months earlier, and I was in love. So, when it came time to pick the theme for my latest party, Harry Potter was the obvious choice.

I was insistent that everything be perfect. Everything had to be Harry Potter, right down to my outfit. My grandma sews for fun, and she had made me a Harry Potter short and polo combination, that I decided was perfect for the occasion.

To this day I still don’t know how my mom came up with the ideas for the activities, but she pulled off the real magic of that day. My friends and I participated in every thing from Potions (root beer floats with pop rocks) to Quidditch. My cake even had a Hermione Granger topper. In fact, I even received Harry Potter lego sets.

Even years later, my 8th birthday party stands out in my mind as some of the most fun I’ve ever had. Just more proof of the dramatic impact Harry Potter has had on my life.

One thought on “A Very Magical Birthday.

Leave a comment